Family Law

Family law issues are often complex, emotional and contentious, and may involve not just the interests of the parties, but of their children, extended family members, family businesses and financial assets. When these issues arise, the Family Law Group at Torkin Manes LLP has the skills, experience and sensitivity to protect your interests, advocate your position and achieve a lasting resolution. 

The Family Law Group at Torkin Manes is one of the largest and most respected in Canada. We have handled some of the country’s most challenging family law cases and have set enduring family law precedents. With expertise in both preventative and reactive family law, our lawyers effectively negotiate cohabitation agreements, marriage contracts and separation agreements dealing with property, support, custody and access. In addition, our lawyers are both trained litigators and leaders in Alternative Dispute Resolution.

Three of our senior lawyers are certified as Specialists in Family Law by The Law Society of Upper Canada and as mediators and arbitrators by the ADR Institute of Ontario. They are recognized in Lexpert’s peer review as Consistently Recommended. Our lawyers have taught Family Law for the Bar Admission Courses, served as members of the Executive Committee for the Ontario and Canadian Bar Associations - Family Law Sections, and have written leading publications on a wide range of family law issues. We edit and publish Money and Family Law, a monthly report on the impact of family property law on business and personal financial planning. One of our lawyers is a contributing editor of Advising the Family-Owned Business, which includes chapters on family law matters.

As part of a full-service firm, we are uniquely poised  to coordinate our clients’ legal needs should they go beyond Family Law. With our Business Law, Tax, Real Estate and Wills,Trusts & Estates Groups, we are able to provide timely, seamless, and cost-effective service to families as they plan their futures. Our clients come from various cultural and economic backgrounds, and include Ontario residents, residents of other Canadian provinces, and international clients with interests in Ontario. We ensure that they fully understand the legal and strategic implications of their available options, so that they get the best possible resolution and maximum protection.

The Family Law Group at Torkin Manes provides advice and representation related to:

  • Domestic Contracts, including Cohabitation Agreements, Marriage Contracts and Separation Agreements
  • Litigation, including appeals
  • Mediation and arbitration
  • Same-Sex Issues
  • Spousal Support
  • Child support
  • Custody and access
  • Mobility rights
  • Grandparents’ access rights
  • Property division
  • Annulment
  • Child protection
  • Step-Parent Adoption

Robert M. Halpern

Practice Group Lead

Tel: 416 777 5435  Fax: 1 888 497 8645
Email: rhalpern@torkinmanes.com

Christine Ashbourne

Tel: 416 360 4732  Fax: 1 888 683 6536
Email: cashbourne@torkinmanes.com

Adam N. Black

Tel: 416 643 8808  Fax: 1 888 312 0068
Email: ablack@torkinmanes.com

Jessica Brown

Tel: 416.594.4482  Fax: 1.844.275.6206
Email: jbrown@torkinmanes.com

Daniel S. Melamed

Tel: 416 777 5416  Fax: 1 888 587 9136
Email: dmelamed@torkinmanes.com

Lindsay G. Mills

Tel: 416 643 8813  Fax: 1 888 603 4584
Email: lmills@torkinmanes.com

Laurie H. Pawlitza

Tel: 416 777 5192  Fax: 1 888 463 8132
Email: lpawlitza@torkinmanes.com

Jennifer L. Wilson

Tel: 416 777 5415  Fax: 1 888 603 4590
Email: jwilson@torkinmanes.com

Lorne H. Wolfson

Tel: 416 777 5414  Fax: 1 888 587 9144
Email: lwolfson@torkinmanes.com

Practice Group Lead(s)

Robert M. Halpern 416 777 5435 rhalpern@torkinmanes.com

Practice Group Lawyers

Christine Ashbourne 416 360 4732 cashbourne@torkinmanes.com
Adam N. Black 416 643 8808 ablack@torkinmanes.com
Jessica Brown 416.594.4482 jbrown@torkinmanes.com
Daniel S. Melamed 416 777 5416 dmelamed@torkinmanes.com
Lindsay G. Mills 416 643 8813 lmills@torkinmanes.com
Laurie H. Pawlitza 416 777 5192 lpawlitza@torkinmanes.com
Jennifer L. Wilson 416 777 5415 jwilson@torkinmanes.com
Lorne H. Wolfson 416 777 5414 lwolfson@torkinmanes.com

Practice Group Clerks

Shandra Barrow 416 777 5445 sbarrow@torkinmanes.com
Shirley Bruno 416 777 5446 sbruno@torkinmanes.com
Catherine Tsempelis 416.643.8819 ctsempelis@torkinmanes.com
Margaret Ventura 416 777 5193 mventura@torkinmanes.com
Back to all Services