Business Law

Business opportunities demand prompt, accurate assessment. At Torkin Manes, our priority is to know our clients' business objectives and understand their legal needs.

No matter how complex the situation, we quickly grasp our clients’ legal issues and work towards a speedy resolution with advice that reflects practical business realities. No matter how large or small the transaction, we work closely with our clients to provide timely, proactive, and cost-effective service.

The Business Law Group at Torkin Manes excels in experience with midmarket, entrepreneurial clients who want value for their legal dollar. Our clients treat us as their trusted advisors and stay with us as they grow. 

We advise them on next-phase strategies throughout the life cycle of their companies, helping them establish new businesses or grow their existing businesses, carry out corporate and tax reorganizations, finance transactions, establish partnerships and joint ventures, undertake mergers, acquisitions and divestitures and devise exit strategies. We represent private and public corporations, from family-owned or closely-held enterprises to large, multinational corporations, as well as entrepreneurial individuals, financial institutions, private equity firms, securities dealers and advisers, and investment funds.

We have significant experience in cross-border work, both inbound and outbound. Our Group assists clients with commercial negotiations, establishment of Canadian affiliates, international licensing agreements, financing and the establishment of tax-effective business structures, in Canada and elsewhere. To assist those exploring the prospect of expanding their businesses into Canada, we compiled Doing Business in Canada: A Legal Overview. Torkin Manes is a founding member of the International Alliance of Law Firms (now Ally Law), an international network of select law firms that enables us to help our clients obtain excellent legal service and counsel in over 40 jurisdictions worldwide. We are also able to render services to other Ally Law members' clients from around the globe.

Our Business Law Group is comprised of experienced and well-respected lawyers who are recognized by the profession and the business community as leaders with the expertise to provide practical, cost-effective solutions to business clients' needs. The Group’s abilities are enhanced by our team of highly experienced law clerks and assistants who become familiar with our clients to deliver the range of services they require. We work closely with our colleagues in other practice areas across the firm to ensure that all of our clients’ legal needs receive prompt, seamless attention.

Some of our many Business Law services include:

  • Business succession planning
  • Corporate financings
  • Corporate governance advice
  • Corporate reorganizations
  • CPC transactions
  • Due diligence
  • Establishing business entities in Canada
  • Joint venture agreements
  • Mergers, acquisitions, divestitures
  • Partnership and shareholder agreements
  • Private equity transactions
  • Public corporations
Date Title Related Lawyers Type

September 2016

Crafting Cross-Border Structures

Global Law Day, Ontario Bar Association

Marc Weisman

Presentation

September 2016

Crafting Cross-Border Structures

Global Law Day, Ontario Bar Association

Presentation

September 2016

Global Law Day – Crafting Cross‐Border Structures

Co-coordinator, Joint New York State Bar Association and Ontario Bar Association Global Law Day Program

Ari Tenenbaum

Presentation

July 2016

When smart contracts are not so smart

The Globe and Mail

Adrian Myers

Article

May 2016

Who really wins in merger-disclosure settlements?

The Globe and Mail

Adrian Myers

Article

May 2016

Buying the Property – Structuring the Acquisition

Association Internationale des Jeunes Avocates

Presentation

May 2016

Is the magic of ‘smart’ contracts just sleight of hand?

The Globe and Mail

Adrian Myers

Article

April 2016

Weaker ‘poison pills,’ stronger shareholders?

The Globe and Mail

Adrian Myers

Article

March 2016

Lots of things can be taxed, but what should we tax?

The Globe and Mail

Adrian Myers

Article

March 2016

Federal Budget 2016 - Did it Live Up to the Hype?

Torkin Manes LegalPoint

Wesley Isaacs
Marc Weisman

Newsletter

More Publications

Matthew Tevlin

Practice Group Lead

Tel: 416 777 5401  Fax: 1 888 497 8650
Email: mtevlin@torkinmanes.com

Barry S. Arbus, QC

Tel: 416 777 5423  Fax: 1 888 603 4592
Email: barbus@torkinmanes.com

Kobi Bessin

Tel: 416 643 8805  Fax: 1 844 842 9185
Email: kbessin@torkinmanes.com

Allan S. Bronstein

Tel: 416 777 5369  Fax: 1 888 463 8129
Email: abronstein@torkinmanes.com

Howard Burshtein

Tel: 416 777 5456  Fax: 1 888 732 6506
Email: hburshtein@torkinmanes.com

Jeffrey I. Cohen

Tel: 416 777 5422  Fax: 1 888 812 2562
Email: jcohen@torkinmanes.com

Tal Cyngiser

Tel: 416 643 8807  Fax: 1 888 603 4587
Email: tcyngiser@torkinmanes.com

Glen Eddie

Tel: 416 777 5357  Fax: 1 888 812 2557
Email: geddie@torkinmanes.com

Hunter Forman

Tel: 416 777 5361  Fax: 1 888 312 0073
Email: hforman@torkinmanes.com

Michael J. Hanley

Tel: 416 777 5431  Fax: 1 888 497 8651
Email: mhanley@torkinmanes.com

Yale Hertzman

Tel: 416 594 4481  Fax: 1 844 275 6204
Email: yhertzman@torkinmanes.com

Wesley Isaacs

Tel: 416 360 4735  Fax: 1 844 842 9183
Email: wisaacs@torkinmanes.com

Kay Leung

Tel: 416.777.5428  Fax: 1.888.812.2561
Email: kleung@torkinmanes.com

Lisa R. Lifshitz

Tel: 416 775 8821  Fax: 1 877 689 3891
Email: llifshitz@torkinmanes.com

Myron Mallia-Dare

Tel: 416.775.8827  Fax: 1.888.463.8130
Email: mmallia-dare@torkinmanes.com

Dania Mastrorillo

Tel: 416 775 8825  Fax: 1 844 275 6205
Email: dmastrorillo@torkinmanes.com

Adrian Myers

Tel: 416 775 8826  Fax: 1 888 732 6507
Email: amyers@torkinmanes.com

Sammy Redlick

Tel: 416 777 5198  Fax: 1 877 689 3862
Email: sredlick@torkinmanes.com

Chaim Sapirman

Tel: 416 777 5196  Fax: 1 877 689 3861
Email: csapirman@torkinmanes.com

S. Fay Sulley

Tel: 416 777 5419  Fax: 1 888 587 5769
Email: fsulley@torkinmanes.com

Ari Tenenbaum

Tel: 416 643 8817  Fax: 1 888 312 0065
Email: atenenbaum@torkinmanes.com

Marc Weisman

Tel: 416 777 5455  Fax: 1 888 812 2565
Email: mweisman@torkinmanes.com

Andrew J. Wilder

Tel: 416 777 5402  Fax: 1 888 587 5762
Email: awilder@torkinmanes.com

Practice Group Lead(s)

Matthew Tevlin 416 777 5401 mtevlin@torkinmanes.com

Practice Group Lawyers

Barry S. Arbus, QC 416 777 5423 barbus@torkinmanes.com
Kobi Bessin 416 643 8805 kbessin@torkinmanes.com
Allan S. Bronstein 416 777 5369 abronstein@torkinmanes.com
Howard Burshtein 416 777 5456 hburshtein@torkinmanes.com
Jeffrey I. Cohen 416 777 5422 jcohen@torkinmanes.com
Tal Cyngiser 416 643 8807 tcyngiser@torkinmanes.com
Glen Eddie 416 777 5357 geddie@torkinmanes.com
Hunter Forman 416 777 5361 hforman@torkinmanes.com
Michael J. Hanley 416 777 5431 mhanley@torkinmanes.com
Yale Hertzman 416 594 4481 yhertzman@torkinmanes.com
Wesley Isaacs 416 360 4735 wisaacs@torkinmanes.com
Kay Leung 416.777.5428 kleung@torkinmanes.com
Lisa R. Lifshitz 416 775 8821 llifshitz@torkinmanes.com
Myron Mallia-Dare 416.775.8827 mmallia-dare@torkinmanes.com
Dania Mastrorillo 416 775 8825 dmastrorillo@torkinmanes.com
Adrian Myers 416 775 8826 amyers@torkinmanes.com
Sammy Redlick 416 777 5198 sredlick@torkinmanes.com
Chaim Sapirman 416 777 5196 csapirman@torkinmanes.com
S. Fay Sulley 416 777 5419 fsulley@torkinmanes.com
Ari Tenenbaum 416 643 8817 atenenbaum@torkinmanes.com
Marc Weisman 416 777 5455 mweisman@torkinmanes.com
Andrew J. Wilder 416 777 5402 awilder@torkinmanes.com

Practice Group Clerks

Marianne Cruttwell 416 863 1220 Ext. 210 mcruttwell@torkinmanes.com
Amanda Innes 416 777 5441 ainnes@torkinmanes.com
Shalan Jankowski 416 777 5405 sjankowski@torkinmanes.com
Karen Lindsay 416 863 1220 Ext. 205 klindsay@torkinmanes.com
Jon Robson 416.775.8820 jrobson@torkinmanes.com
Back to all Services